India secured a 99-run victory (DLS adjusted) against Australia in Indore, clinching the ODI series 2-0. There were  some remarkable performances. For example, Shreyas Iyer’s statement century and Shubman Gill’s fifth ODI ton of the year. Suryakumar Yadav’ had an explosive 37-ball 72, and R Ashwin had an impressive three-wicket haul.

The Indian batting lineup was relentless, smashing 31 fours and 18 sixes, amassing 399 for five on a pitch that favored the batsmen. Australia struggled to find their footing. Prasidh Krishna, filling in for the rested Jasprit Bumrah, dealt the initial blows. After a rain delay, the spinners took charge, reducing Australia to a mere 217 all out.

A pivotal moment in the game was the partnership of 200 runs in 164 balls for the second wicket between Shreyas Iyer and Shubman Gill. It established India’s dominance in the initial 30 overs. KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, and Ishan Kishan contributed in the final 20 overs, propelling India to a record target.

Iyer and Gill displayed exquisite form early on, notching up a fifty stand in just 29 balls. They continued to attack, with Gill particularly impressive with his groundstrokes. Their partnership propelled India to 158 for one by the tenth over, maintaining a solid run rate of 7.8 per over between the 11th and 20th overs.

Shreyas Iyer reached his third ODI century in the 30th over, as the crowd celebrating it. Gill, who had been dropped earlier in the innings, completed his sixth ODI century two overs later. He fell short, though, of a well-deserved century, departing for a brilliant 104 off 97 balls.

KL Rahul and Ishan Kishan, batting at numbers 4 and 5, continued the onslaught, beginning their innings with sixes. Rahul was ruthless, smashing multiple boundaries, while the partnership added 59 runs in 33 balls. Yet, Australia could slow down India’s momentum in the final powerplay.

Suryakumar Yadav then took charge, decimating Cameron Green for four consecutive sixes in the 44th over, accumulating 26 runs. Rahul departed after a remarkable 52 off 38 balls, but Suryakumar continued to shine, reaching his second fifty of the series in 24 balls.

The Australian bowlers endured a torrid day on the unforgiving Indore pitch. Debutant Spencer Johnson conceded 61 runs in eight overs, while Abbott was hammered for 91 runs in 10. Green also had a tough day, conceding two for 103. He became the fourth Australian bowler to concede triple digits in ODIs.

Australia’s chase began poorly, with Prasidh Krishna dismissing Matthew Short and Steven Smith off consecutive balls. As David Warner and Marnus Labuschagne started rebuilding, a second rain interruption reduced the match to 33 overs, with a DLS-adjusted target of 317.

After the resumption, R Ashwin displayed his spin wizardry. He claimed crucial wickets, including Warner and Labuschagne. With the pitch offering a significant turn, Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja kept the pressure on the Australian batsmen. Jadeja bowled Carey, and Green was run out, leaving Australia with little hope.

Despite the grim situation, Sean Abbott offered a spirited performance with a 36-ball 54. His blitz of fours and sixes provided a glimmer of positivity for Australia. Yet, it wasn’t enough to change the outcome as Australia succumbed to their fifth consecutive ODI defeat.

India’s fielding was the only blemish in an otherwise dominant display. Dewy conditions late in the day led to some lapses in the field. It allowed Australia’s lower-order batsmen to bolster their score. Ravindra Jadeja closed the game with a terrific turning ball that rattled Abbott’s stumps, finishing with a three-wicket haul.

The teams will now head to Rajkot for the final ODI, with both sides expected to field full-strength XIs. This match in Indore gave the fringe players a last opportunity to impress, with some of them making more impact.

Brief scores:

India 399/5 in 50 overs (Shreyas Iyer 105, Shubman Gill 104, Suryakumar Yadav 72*, KL Rahul 52; Cameron Green 2-103) beat Australia 217 (Sean Abbott 54, David Warner 53; R Ashwin 3-41, Ravindra Jadeja 3-42) by 99 runs (DLS method).

Other News in this category

latest news