In August, India’s upcoming T20I series against West Indies promises to showcase a fresh-faced squad brimming with young talent. Yashasvi Jaiswal and Tilak Varma have been rewarded with call-ups to the Indian team for the T20I leg of the West Indies tour, while stalwarts like Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma remain absent.

Mukesh Kumar, who also found himself in the Test and ODI squad, has earned a T20I call-up, further solidifying his place in the team. Additionally, the dynamic Sanju Samson returns to the squad as the wicketkeeper, bolstering India’s batting prowess.

However, the selection had its exclusions. Jitesh Sharma, the backup keeper in the previous series against New Zealand, did not cut this time. Rahul Tripathi, Washington Sundar, Deepak Hooda, and Shivam Mavi, who all played a role in the New Zealand T20Is, also missed out on this occasion.

Jaiswal and Gaikwad, who impressed with their performances in the IPL, opening the batting for Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings, respectively, have rightfully earned their spots in the T20I squad. The pace department boasts the presence of Mukesh Kumar and Navdeep Saini, as Mohammed Shami and Umesh Yadav face exclusion. Ajinkya Rahane, a seasoned campaigner, has been named the squad’s vice-captain, while Rohit Sharma leads the team from the front. Jasprit Bumrah, unfortunately, remains sidelined due to his ongoing back injury.

Turning the focus to the ODI squad, it’s noticeable that many familiar faces have retained their positions. Gaikwad, known for his consistent performances, is vital to the white-ball setup. Furthermore, Sanju Samson makes a noteworthy comeback to the ODI squad, filling the void left by the injured KL Rahul and Rishabh Pant.

The pace bowling department boasts Mukesh Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat, and Mohammed Siraj, adding depth and variety to the team’s bowling arsenal. Completing the pace bowling lineup is the promising Umran Malik. Meanwhile, the spin department is well-covered with the selection of Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, and Axar Patel.

In the ODI format, Rohit Sharma will lead the side, with the explosive all-rounder Hardik Pandya assuming the role of vice-captain, adding his valuable inputs and skills to the team’s campaign.

The much-anticipated Test series between India and West Indies is set to commence on July 12 in Dominica, concluding on July 24 in Trinidad. The three-match T20I series will follow the Test matches from July 27 to August 1.

While India is yet to announce their T20I squad, the upcoming series against West Indies presents an exciting opportunity for the young players to prove their mettle and make a lasting impact on the international stage. The team’s blend of youth and experience, under the astute leadership of Rohit Sharma, promises to make this series a thrilling spectacle for cricket enthusiasts worldwide.

Other News in this category

latest news