The Indian team maintained a perfect record in the World Cup. They beat the Netherlands in Bangalore by a massive 160-run margin. The win solidified India’s stellar 9-0 record. Now they should feel very confident for the upcoming semi-final against New Zealand.

India delivered an impressive spectacle, opting to bat first. Thus, they posted 410/4 on the scoreboard. Despite the early dismissals of Shubman Gill and Rohit Sharma, the Indian top order’s quick starts set the stage for a formidable total. Virat Kohli’s fifty, plus Shreyas Iyer and KL Rahul’s partnership propelled India to their score. Iyer registered a splendid century and Rahul hit an impressive ton.

The synergy between them was exemplary. They created history by ensuring that all top five Indian batsmen scored fifty-plus runs in an ODI game. It was the first time in the team’s history. The duo’s aggressive onslaught in the latter stages of the innings propelled India to an enormous total. It also laid the groundwork for a challenge for the Dutch.

Yet, the Netherlands faced setbacks, with Mohammed Siraj striking to claim Wesley Barresi’s wicket. The Dutch tried to resist through Colin Ackermann’s aggressive approach. However, Kuldeep Yadav and Ravindra Jadeja dismantled their progress by claiming crucial wickets.

The Indian bowling attack, led by Jasprit Bumrah’s precise yorker and contributions from part-time bowlers like Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, and Gill, dominated. They did restrict the Dutch batting line-up. Siraj’s return to the field after an injury reinforced India’s stronghold. So they piled extra pressure on the Dutch squad.

Despite Teja Nidamanuru’s resilient half-century for the Netherlands, India’s bowling prowess ensured a commanding victory. India’s bowling unit limited the Netherlands to 250 runs, securing a convincing win by 160 runs.

The game showcased India’s strength as they now stride into the knockout phase undefeated.

Brief Scores:

India 410/4 in 50 overs (Shreyas Iyer 128*, KL Rahul 102, Rohit Sharma 61; Bas de Leede 2/82) defeated Netherlands 250 in 47.5 overs (Teja Nidamanuru 54; Mohammed Siraj 2/29, Jasprit Bumrah 2/33) by 160 runs.

Other News in this category

latest news